Wednesday, April 1, 2009

ACC Ballers Awards

As most if not all of you already know, Carolina turned in a final four weekend to remember in Detroit this past April as they swept past the competition to win the prestigious National Championship.

Of course, the focus has now been moved to the next part of the season, the part that most coaches hate, the NBA waiting game. There are several players still on the fence about coming back tor another year of ACC ball or playing in the league.

We won't know who is staying or leaving for another month so for now lets take a look back at which players and teams stood out this year.

ACC Ballers Best Team:

North Carolina

ACC Ballers Best Player:

Tywon Lawson, Jr, North Carolina

ACC Ballers Best Pro Prospect:

Al-Farouq Aminu, Fr, Wake Forest

ACC Ballers Best Freshman:

Sylven Landesberg, Fr, Virginia

ACC Ballers Best 6th Man:

Ed Davis, Fr, UNC

ACC Ballers All-Conference:

First Team:

Tywon Lawson, Fr, North Carolina
Jeff Teague, So, Wake Forest
Gerald Henderson, Jr, Duke
Tyler Hansbrough, Sr, North Carolina
Toney Douglas, Sr, Florida State

Second Team:

Greivis Vasquez, Jr, Maryland
Tyrese Rice, Sr, Boston College
Jack McClinton, Sr, Miami
James Johnson, So, Wake Forest
Trevor Booker, So, Clemson

Third Team:

Wayne Ellington, Jr, North Carolina
Kyle Singler, So, Duke
Malcolm Delaney, So, Virginia Tech
AD Vassallo
John Scheyer, Jr, Duke